Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Safety

Safety -- Make sure you are safe!

Old 2006-01-10, 10:25pm

Default Can smell gas!!!!!!!!!!!

I am new to this and have a few questions. I use a hotthead with a refillable 6 lb tank of propoylene. I just refilled it for the 2nd time. My first question is that i can smell the odor that is supposedly part of propoylene so that you can detect a leak but i cant seem to find anything leaking. I know you are suppose to check for leaks using soap and water but what do you do with the gas and the torch. (Do you turn the gas on and leave the torch off or on and i assume you dont light anything!!!!) If there are no found leaks then could it be my tank that i just replaced. I am also having trouble with my beads getting that "liver color" to them too. Could it be a bad tank of gas. This tank really came "beat up". I had no problems the first time.

The other question i have is re: ventilation. We have a air to air heat exchanger in our house (it takes the old stale air out and replaces it with clean fresh air). Is that sufficient for ventilation? I maybe torch 3-10 hours a week.

I am afraid to light my torch with that smell!!!!

Thanks so much.
Old 2006-01-11, 5:22am
Safety ALWAYS

1) Your leak - to check for leaks, the gas has to be turned on, and in your case, the torch should be lit. Check everything, including the torch head - there are a number of fittings on the torch that can leak, and everwhere where there is a connection of pieces fitting together where gas flows through, including the valve assembly, should be leak checked.

2) NO. An air-to-air heat exchanger is NOT an acceptable ventilation unit. You need a dedicated exhaust system with it's own fresh air supply.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.