LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2006-05-10, 5:04pm

Default Newbie Here! What hand to hold the mandrel in?

This is my first post but probably not my last!

I have only used the torch twice, once during the class over 2 years ago and again about 3 weeks ago. It seems I held the mandrel in my left hand and the glass in my right during the class.

3 weeks ago when I finally got back to use the open torch time at Bullseye I asked the instructor what hand to hold the mandrel in and she said she is right handed and she holds the mandrel in her right and the glass in her left.

If you are right handed, what hand do you hold the glass in?

I have torch time again tomorrow.

Thanks!

Tamara
Joyful Creations
www.creationsbytjk.com
Old 2006-05-10, 5:24pm
ManBearPig

Whichever feels comfortable. I hold the mandrel in my left hand when I'm applying the glass to it, and switch it to my right hand for shaping.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
•
•
•
Old 2006-05-10, 5:50pm
dances with ideas...

Hmmm... I'm right handed and hold the glass in my right hand. But when I'm shaping, I switch back and forth between hands. I agree with Chad--whatever feels best.

Old 2006-05-10, 7:57pm
maybe tomorrow

Of course do what feels most comfortable, but I think that most people hold the rod in their dominant hand so they will have more control when applying the glass. I'd think this would be especially important to anyone doing detail work.