Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2017-10-23, 1:14pm

Default bottle glass frit - firing schedule

Hi all!

I am new to glasswork(lampwork, fusing glass).
I try to use the bottle glass to make beads.
From the lampworking, I got nice beads with using bottle glass, but I am still struggling with bottle frit casting.

I made frits from bottle glass and tested them on the molds with the several firing schedules, but all failed. I am frustrated from lots of tests and errors at this point. (I use the mold that I made with low fire ceramic.)
Name:  IMG_1961.jpg
Views: 691
Size:  40.5 KB

Name:  IMG_1962.jpg
Views: 710
Size:  36.6 KB

I really need help from you, experts!
1. Which firing schedule is good for recycled bottle glass frit casting?
The below is one of the firing schedules that I used and it didn't really work.
also fired on 1600 no hold, but it really didn't work and now I have no idea what the issue is...
Seg 1. 250 per h, 1550, 20-30mins
Seg 2. 80 per h, 1090, 30 mins
Seg3, 80 per h, 400, 0 and let it cool.

2. Is there any firing schedule that you are using for the bead batch annealing? anyone use the batch annealing?

I use the below firing schedule during lampworking, but I think the batch annealing is better for energy saving and easy to work.

Seg1. Full/ 1050(for bottle glass)/ 2-3 hours(depending on work hour)
Seg2. 100/ 750/0 off

Hopefully, I can get the answers

Thank you!

Last edited by Sese; 2017-10-23 at 3:02pm.
Old 2017-10-23, 2:24pm