Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Caber Light

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2007-01-17, 9:37pm

Default what bead release to use for presses

i am new to trying presses and presently using bucket of mud. the release seems to crumble and adheres of course to the glass. Is there a preferred release? i don't know if temp has any bearing on release, my shop can get below freezing. so far in general use there has not been a problem, i've never had a problem with removing a bead.
thanks Bayard

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

------------------------
Kobuki*Delta Elite*Mirage*Blast Shields*two DeVilbiss 5 LPM* tanks* foot pedal.
Old 2007-01-17, 9:40pm

I've always used Alice's Bead Release and never had any problems with it when I make pressed beads.

http://www.alicesstainedglass.com/

Candy

Old 2007-01-18, 5:49am
Striking-impared...

I use Foster Fire most often, sometimes mixed with a little Bucket O Mud. Been pressing beads for 2.5 years.

I tend to coat my mandrels with 2 very thin coats, as opposed to one thicker one. Seems like 2 thin coats gives me a little more protection if the bead release breaks when I press too hard.

Old 2007-01-18, 9:33am

I am a real convert to KRAGG Mudd, it almost never breaks, and even when it does, the bead stays put on the mandrel long enough to finish it. I flame-dry, and have had success with it in a range of consistencies, though I try to keep it a medium thickness. If I get bubbly bumps while drying I'll add a bit of water.
www.kittrellriffkind.com
Good Luck!
Kim

[/size]
Old 2007-01-18, 9:52am
Missing presumed fed