LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Safety

Safety -- Make sure you are safe!

Old 2010-06-12, 9:24am

Default Graphite mandrels

I purchased one of these recently ~ have not used it yet.

I was at a show today and a experienced lamp worker ( I am a newbie...very wet behind my ears) told me she thought that you cannot put graphite into the flame for too long....it would explode.
I bought this from a store that I would not think would sell them if there was a change. Being new and not sure if I bought this for an incorrect application
(Its a triangle and I got excited when I saw that)I will be on a HH (104) for a bit until my ventalation is set up for my mini c.)
Better to check and be safe than sorry. Just thought I would check to see if someone has experience with this.
Thanks!
Old 2010-06-12, 10:06am
Micromosaic and Lampwork

If you are talking about the tool I think you are, the graphite is used as a tool not a mandrel to make the bead on. It is probably used for shaping or opening the neck or opening of a blown vessel. I haven't heard of any other uses for graphite other than shaping a bead or glass.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 2010-06-12, 11:05am
Curmudgeon Engineering

Contrary to popular belief graphite will burn. It is carbon. Extended time in very hot flame will burn out the binders used to mfg it and cause the graphite to become soft and granular and start to slouf off and fall apart.
I believe Torched Art is right that you have purchased a 'reamer' used to work the glass, usually in openings like loops or cups.
Old 2010-06-13, 6:27am

I contacted the company I purchased these from and asked the same question....since I posted it here also I wanted to post what their reply is....