Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

The Flow

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Safety

Safety -- Make sure you are safe!

Old 2011-10-18, 8:44pm
Just getting started!

Default How to Avoid Burning the House Down?

I need your help please on understanding how this all works and your feedback on my plans for setup. I'm extremely new to this and up until this point have only purchased a beads from artists; I've never made my own. There are no classes being offered in my area until after Christmas and I want to be set up well before then.

I'll be torching in my in-laws basement. The space I'll be in has foundation running half way up, then unfinished walls and ceiling. There are two windows in my area, approx. 24"x18" in size, plus relatively close access to the exterior door. Ventilation wise, I'm working on piecing together a hood and fan system (aiming to have around 650cfm). I'm going to run ducting out one window and open the other for make-up air. The windows are around the corner from each other and each about 6'-8' from the corner, so I think there is enough distance between them to avoid sucking in the bad air.

I'll be mounting my torch on an old school dining table (I'd guess at least 2.5' deep, maybe 3'). I have a Mini cc and an 8lpm oxycon. I'll be storing my propane outside and running a hose in through one window.

Some concern has been expressed over the torch, what kind of heat it produces and if there should be any concern about me burning the house down . I've never used a torch like this and while I've watched some videos on you-tube, I can't answer their questions about the heat produced, if it's safe etc... I've seen on one video that the mini cc can have a flame up to 16". If that's mounted on the dining table mentioned above, pushed against the wall, how far will the heat project? Do I need to worry about the walls and surrounding area? Should I put some sheet rock against the wall to protect it?