Lampwork Etc.

Mountain Glass Arts

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2009-12-30, 7:32pm

Default need a tool to hod my hot sculptures

Hi everyone, I am only new at sculpting & I need some advice on finding a tool that I can use to hold my hot boro glass scultures. I have attached a example to give you the idea of the shape (it's 4 cm. tall). I have tried alot of different holding tools & I keep dropping & braking the sculptures while I am trying to add wings, fins etc. or when I am trying to shape the head or tail. I have already tried hot finger grabbers & marble holder tongs, but they failed because the object isn't round enough or big enough to keep a grip. I have tried long handle tweezers (both with the rough teeth & with smooth) but as I am working, the piece will often slip out of the tweezers & brake. I have also tryed useing 4 mm boro rods as punties to the sculpture but the ends often cool & fall off or I put them onto the piece too well & can't get them off without leaving glass behind.
The only thing that is some what successful is a pair of long nosed pliers, they seem to hold the grip well but my hands are very close to the flame. Anyone know where I can get a REALLY long nosed pliers from? Or anyone have any other suggestions? Thanks for all the wonderful advice & encouragement that this forum provides. Cynthia in Australia
Attached Images

Old 2009-12-30, 7:52pm

Hi Cynthia, nice name Have you looked into "hot fingers"? That's what I use for my dragons when adding the wings. Here's a link to Malcolm at Artco.

http://www.artcoinc.com/hot_fingers.php

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.