Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Caber Light

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2008-11-13, 2:48pm
Trying to Hope!

Default Ideas How to Build a hot pot for flower petals

I want to do a cover for my hot plate to keep my petals super hot

I wanted to see what ideas others might have..

Heres My ideas I have a 700 degree hot plate from hp scientific but the tops of the petals still get cold sometimes I am aiming to keep the whole petal hot at the same temp

1 idea is cut my fiber blanket from my hot head days and cover it in foil lay it on top of the beads or petals but I am afraid it will start to smell with the hot plate being so hot.

another idea is to get a terra cotta flower pot cover it in fiberblanket and add a handle to sit on top of the hot plate to contaibn the heat inside a little more

Which would you do?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Etsy Here
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ebay Here

NEW Ebay Items all the time here

I buy Gold PM me for details
NEW Handmade jewelry on Etsy
Old 2008-11-13, 4:17pm
formerly JewelsByJenny

I like the flowerpot idea

Jenny

Old 2008-11-13, 4:34pm
Mary Lockwood

I tried the flower pot saucer idea and it exploded. Just be prepared. LOL

I wasn't using mine as a lid, I have one of the laboratory hotplates too, a 4 inch round metal surface that is supposed to hit 750F in 8 minutes. There is no knob, it just plugs in and goes up to its max temp.