Lampwork Etc.

AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

The Flow

Glacial Art Glass

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions > Torch Questions

Old 2015-07-23, 1:23pm

Post Opinions needed, for total newbie

Hello everyone,
Many thanks for taking a moment to give your much needed advice and opinions....

My question is: I have only been reading, studying tutorials, etc. and would love to try making glass beads in various shapes and patterns. My one desire is, to be able to use a lot of different colors in my work. Now, I would like to start out with using just MAPP gas and that hot head torch (for financial reasons and logistics). I don't have a problem with needing a lot of time to create a bead, such as those torches being "slow" as I've read some people complain about etc.

Am I wasting my time trying to create things like custom color stringers to use in my work with the simple torch & MAPP gas ?? I'd like to use metallics as well, but am not sure if using that humble, simple torch will be appropriate ? I am not comfortable with having Oxygen tanks in the basement, and the setup of the propane/oxy would presently pose a problem to get installed. I would be willing, down the road to get an oxy concentrator, money permitting, but right now, it's the MAPP gas I'm thinking about, and wanting to learn how to make beads with. I just want a large selection of colors that will work with the single gas method.

I have read some of the torch Q&A's in other threads, and it's quite extensive, not really addressing my questions . I am looking into a glass bead making class in the near future, should one become available, but right now, I'd like to think about all the parameters for making glass beads, etc.

Sorry for being long-winded here, many thanks for any opinions and guidance.
Old 2015-07-23, 1:38pm
Marble Lover

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mulberry Marquessa View Post