Lampwork Etc.

Send a PM to CorriDawn!

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2006-02-09, 4:05pm

Default Glass Alchemy boro question.

Hi,

I just started playing with my GA boro sample set today. I am using the lynx center fire of a GTT Delta Elite with propane and tanked oxygen. I followed the instruction in the "Setting a neutral flame Card" that was included with the set. I then tested it with the sample of GA987 "Amazon Night." As you can see from the attached pictures the Amazon Night rod (rod on the far left) remained unchanged which means that I have a neutral flame. I then put the sample of GA786 "Triple Passion" in the same spot in the flame where I tested the "Amazon night." As you can see from the attached pictures, the "Triple Passion" (rod in the middle) has a shiny metallic surface, but is purple inside which is the color it is supposed to be. Where did the shiny metallic surface come from? The same thing is happening with GA383 "Silver Strike 3" which is the rod on the far right in the attached pictures. It was supposed to turn a brownish color and it did, but there is a shiny metallic surface on the top as well.

So, can somebody please tell me what the heck I am doing wrong here?

Thanks for any and all assistance.

Eric
Attached Images

Old 2006-02-09, 4:27pm
boro color bender

I think you need a little more oxy or leave it in long enough to melt the glass and see if the haze burns off. i haven't done the project kit yet, so I really shouldn't be speaking up. The metalic sheen is silver... It's not oxydized enough to burn it off. Did it tell you to actually melt the glass? Cause the rods look barely flame polished. I should find the kit and read it huh? Maybe somebody with kit experience will chime in... but my advise is to crank the oxy up a little.