Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2007-09-22, 11:04pm

Default "Guy" jewelry?

I have a customer who wants a necklace for an 18 year old male. She described him as liking to wear "surfer dude" type stuff, like macrame necklaces. I'm 23 but I'm really out of touch with what guys like. I know this is a very vague inquiry, but any suggestions? I mostly do lampwork but I have access to some fusing stuff too.

I was thinking of maybe making a hemp necklace with a cool focal bead. I'm not very good with macrame though. I would do something pretty simple on the macrame end. I think ideally I would like something that is a bit less time consuming for me though (I think she's looking for a $15 or so item).

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 2007-09-23, 1:26am
Spectrum rulz

Amy I would just put something onto some leather strip. You can tie it so you can slide it back and forth and make it bigger or smaller etc. Unless you are a pro at doing sculptures and can whip up a surfer I would go with something more organicy. My son is 17 and decided he wanted a big tiger bead bracelet (except you cant call it a bracelet for a bloke can you lol). I told him you would never wear it and he was adament he wanted it. As yet I've never seen it on him. I have another male friend who wears just 1 focal on a leather stip its hard to do lampworking for males.
Old 2007-09-23, 1:33am

what sort of leather? i have some leather that i use for necklaces a lot, but i don't know how to tie it like you described (i usually finish them off in a way that is more "girly", with a necklace clasp etc.

Old 2007-09-23, 4:51am
Wendy