Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2010-01-20, 7:18am

Default Anyone using a bethlehem betta torch - right torch or not

I am a newbie and presently working on a hh. I found someone who is selling a bethlehem betta torch and wanted to know if anyone else is using this torch and how it works - what kinds of glass can you do with it, is it worth it or save up my money to get a different torch. I would like to be able to do soft glass, boro. I understand you need the torch to be hotter in order to do all kinds of glass but what would be best as a step up from the hh. Thank you for all your help.
Old 2010-01-20, 8:48am

You'll need to indicate
-size of boro that you wish to work
-what your O2 source will be (tanks or concentrator, and if concentrator how many/what O2/min)

But it's always a personal choice and balancing act.
Old 2010-01-20, 9:11am

The Betta is a good little torch - I got one of the original issue models. It'll work on NG and an oxycon, but obviously propane and tanked O2 is better for boro and bigger soft glass. It's got a relatively narrow flame base but it's a very hot torch for the size and is good for small to medium-sized beads. I did a couple of large complex murrinis on mine but don't recommend it unless you've got a lot of time and very strong arms. I use a Phantom now for those things.

Robert
Old 2010-01-20, 2:31pm
one day at a time

How much are you going to be able to spend??

I prefer the GTT line, esp. if you want to get into boro later on as well. All are a dream for soft glass.
Here's my suggestions:

Cricket + 5lpm oxycon = hot

Or Bobcat + 5lpm oxycon (good with one but much better with 2), or 10lpm, or a 15lpm = hotter

Or Lynx + 2 5lpm oxycons, or 10lpm, or a 15lpm = hotter yet!
Old 2010-01-20, 4:24pm