Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Caber Light

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Studio

Studio -- Show us your studio setup

Old 2009-10-19, 10:44am

Default Need studio floor ideas

HI everyone...newbie here who is just getting started with her studio...aka...the extra bedroom...for now. We are going to be tearing down our house and rebuilding within 2 years so this is my not my "dream studio"..just my "for now" studio. With that said...since this will all be bulldozed in the future I am trying to create something with things I can reuse and not invest $$ in things that will be discarded.
With that said...
Currently we have carpet in the room ~ while I am not opposed to tearing it out and replacing with inexpensive stick down tile I would like to examine some other options. Our house is pretty old and very cold...this little bit of carpet does help...and we really hate projects like that because we are not good at them!

Has anyone come across any floor covering...via a fireproof rug, mat (what about those kinds used under desks in offices...plastic tho )or something that they have used that one could put over a rug and still be able to use a chair with wheels? I am fine with it covering half of the room which is about 10 x 10 ish....
Thanks everyone....photos & links would be great if you got em!
Lisa
Old 2009-10-20, 3:06am
RAH!

You can get welders blankets that are heat resistant, might work under chair wheels. Maybe put plastic sheet (like the ones used in offices) down under the chair, then the welders blanket, might make it snag less.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Now with stock! And useful photography!)
Old 2009-10-20, 3:15am
Macaw Mamma