Lampwork Etc.

AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions > Torch Questions

Old 2009-08-12, 5:36am

Red face Using Propane with a Hot Head

I am new to lampworking, and have already found myself addicted to this hobby! Its great fun and I am enjoying being creative.

I am using a Hot Head with the Mapp gas in the #1lb yellow containers. After reading a variety of posts in this forum have discovered that people are using propane instead of MAPP gas: http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/sh...highlight=mapp

An obvious benefit in switching for me is that propane costs less money. My concern is will the propane give me the same results that I am getting with the MAPP gas? And does propane on the hot head require an oxygen tank?

Thanks for any and all assistance!
Old 2009-08-12, 6:25am
Gentleman of Leisure

Most people do not see any real difference between propane and MAPP or MAP-PRO.... Temperature wise propane is a few hundred degrees cooler (2300°f- or something close to that) than Mapp or Map-Pro. .. No oxygen tank is needed with a HH no matter what the fuel is... HH is a fuel/air torch and will always draw the air from the room to support combustion process ....

Dale

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Vendor-Artist-Studio-Teacher Registry

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
San Francisco - A Few Toys Short of a Happy Meal
Old 2009-08-12, 10:43am
I fart diamonds