Lampwork Etc.

AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

The Flow

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2010-08-17, 11:30am

Default Torch Question

I am thinking about getting a larger torch to do boro pendants with. I'm relatively new to making them and they are not real big - maybe an inch in diameter but I would like to make some bigger. Does anyone have an opinion on the Nortel Major/Minor Bench Burner with surface mix top burner? Or, what torch do you like? I need to stay in the $400 to $500 range.
Old 2010-08-17, 12:02pm

hehehe Tracey...now you gone and opened up a can of worms.... I don't think you can do better than a Lynx and it's in your price range. You also need to think about your oxygen supply too though. A Lynx is going to use more oxygen than you can probably get out of a concentrator to run its best. There are a lot of great torches out there and I've owned a bunch of them. Lynx has my vote.
Old 2010-08-17, 12:44pm

Lynx was what I was going to suggest as well.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2010-08-17, 12:50pm

I would go with a national 3a. If you have tanked or 2 concentrators, a OX-3 tip is great. You might also look at some of the multi hole tips. If you only have one concentrator, an OX-2 will treat you nicely.

Here is an OX-3 on 7lpm

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2010-08-17, 2:04pm
ManBearPig

What torch do you use now? I make pendants larger than that all the time using just the center fire on my CC. I have taught pendant classes on Minors and large pendants are no problem on them.

Old 2010-08-17, 7:54pm

Some day I want to upgrade to a Scorpion because it is GGT and runs on a concentrator. Didn't see one at AGI. I'm gonna hook up my mini CC this weekend and give it a try.