LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

The Flow

Glacial Art Glass

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Safety

Safety -- Make sure you are safe!

Old 2010-12-14, 7:16am

Default Difficulty Breathing after lampworking - What am I doing wrong?

Hi there,

I have been lampworking for over two years now, however, lately after I have worked for as little as two hours at my hot head torch, I have been experiencing heavy breathing for the next few days afterwords.

I purchased my vent system from a glass company and run it from directly in front of where I'm sitting, out the window only a couple of feet behind. I have done the incense test and even silver leaf and little pieces of paper will get sucked into the vent. I also have a side window open when I'm working for a source of incoming fresh air as well.

Below are a couple of pictures of my setup for you to take a look at. I just don't know what I am doing wrong! I love this hobby so much and really would hate to give it up, but I might have to if I continue to have breathing issues because of it.

Please help! Thanks!
Sarah
Old 2010-12-14, 7:36am
Help i am on fire

maybe the galvanized metal, i read on here somewhere that it lets out poisons when heated. is that what you gave around your fan?
Old 2010-12-14, 7:50am

First i would check how you are breathing while using your torch. A lot of people tend to hold their breath when concentrating hard or doing very fine work. This would tend to make you a bit oxygen hungry and then you might find your self overbreathing as a result. If you notice this when you have the torch off, it could make you anxious and cause you to be rather more conscious of your breathing than you would be otherwise. If you know someone with a pulse and BP monitor, you could try hooking up to that to check your pulse which should rise a bit I would think if you start to over breathe.