LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Studio

Studio -- Show us your studio setup

Old 2010-06-12, 7:16pm

Location: west of Houston and east of San Antonio - the heart of BlueBonnet country!
Default Ventilation System?

Howdy!
I'm a relative newbie to lampworking. I took my first class at Heritage Glass in New Braunfels, TX in Sept 2009 and immediately got hooked. I've taken a couple of additional lessons and also joined the Houston Hotties ISGB group where I've met some great people for learning and networking. I've also been lurking on LE - reading threads and purchasing goodies (starting my stash). I've picked up a lot of great information and tips; as well as some fabulous tools and supplies at great prices. It's great how everyone is so generous with their knowledge and willing to share their experiences. I'm hoping to solicit input from folks who have been down the path before.

We've got lots of space outside, but I've been indoor space challenged since I started. We've got a really small, old house out in the country. No garage; just an open ended carport. I'm finally graduating from using a HotHead with fiber blanket on the backyard screen porch to a Cricket with oxycon, Chili Pepper kiln and with my own soon-to-be-studio. Yeah!!

On Monday I'm getting a 10x16 metal building shell delivered. Before doing anything to it I thought I'd set up ventilation, and then work everything else (walls, wiring, AC, workbench, etc) in around that. One 16' wall has the door and two windows. The other 16" wall has a spot you can cut out for an AC. One 10' end has a window; the other 10' wall is plain. The roof has a slight gabled pitch to it. I thought I'd set up my lampworking area on the plain 10" wall.