No users in chat

The Flow

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2012-06-28, 12:02am

Default Am I burning my glass?

Hello.
I am very new to lampworking and I am not sure what I am doing wrong. When working with two new colors soft glass COE104) today they drastically changed color and seem to have burned or charred? Is this possible? Am I doing something wrong? I am using a beginners torch from a fireworks kit awaiting a hot head).

Also, once and a while the bead release with crack and crumble off my mandrel while working and the bead will spin around. Any suggestions to help with this issue (am I getting this to hot)?

Thank you LE community!
Manda
Attached Images

Old 2012-06-28, 12:06am
Entropy increasing....

Yep, you are burning your glass. That is usually how the look in the beginning. lol

I've never used a HH torch, so I can't help with that. But the mandrel thing. Take a file or piece of coarse sandpaper and scratch up the surface. That will make the bead release stick better. What kind are you using?
Old 2012-06-28, 12:24am

I figured that may be the problem! I am just so excited that it seems I am getting the glass to hot to fast huh?! Hah. I am using a bead release by Devardi glass. It is VERY thin so I may be looking for some new stuff. Thanks for your confirmation of my suspicion!!
Old 2012-06-28, 12:36am
Cave Dweller

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeardedLady View Post
I figured that may be the problem! I am just so excited that it seems I am getting the glass to hot to fast huh?! Hah. I am using a bead release by Devardi glass. It is VERY thin so I may be looking for some new stuff. Thanks for your confirmation of my suspicion!!
The problem is not too hot, it's too close to the torch head.

There are two types of flame coming out of your torch:
(there is another type of flame "oxidizing" but with a Hot Head