Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Glacial Art Glass

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2010-04-20, 8:40am
working to pay for glass

Cool stupid question for today

well to start i am a self taught student beadmaker that is there is no one remotely close to learn from sooo trying to understand what is work cool ?
if a neutral flame is neutral and you add oxy to make it hot
and you turn down oxy to make it reduce
what exactly is meant by cool ?
or where is cool ?
Old 2010-04-20, 9:02am

I read cool as meaning in a neutral flame, but far out. As in, just enough heat to do what you have to, but no more.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
|
|
|
Old 2010-04-20, 9:10am
Lampworkaholic!

Not a stupid question and one that has been much debated. As I understand it, and my experience confirms it, an oxygenated flame is hotter than a reduction flame.

"And all will turn to silver glass, a light on the water, grey ships pass into the west." Annie Lennox
Old 2010-04-20, 9:20am

In a neutral flame, I consider hot to be working much closer to the torch head and cool to be working further away, more to the top of the flame. To me, when I work a bead "hot", the bead is glowing orange/red. When I am working it "cool", I do not see any glow.

Old 2010-04-20, 9:20am
glass is sooo...me!

This is a much debated topic but cool to me is where I would encase a bead (so the bead is cool enough not to crack when it comes into contact with the hot glass)
In my torch that would be out away from the torch tip about 6" or so in a neutal flame.

If you want to disagree that's fine...like I said it is a much debated topic and that's what works for me.

Karen
Old 2010-04-20, 9:47am
Salt Box Beads