Lampwork Etc.

AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2009-09-02, 8:02pm
Glass Junkie

Default Pyrex rod made in 1992

I just purchased some Pyrex 10mil rod that was made in 1992. I was wondering if this was when Pyrex was still good? Does this year have any quirks or characteristics that newer glass glass does not have? What would be a good price for this in case I want to buy the 4 mil they have? Don't need the 4 mil, but if the price is right...(3/4 case) I'll jump on it. I'm new to boro so...Thanks for any input you might have.
Old 2009-09-03, 7:03am
ManBearPig

Why is the new stuff not good any more? I use a lot of it, and I like it.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 2009-09-03, 1:19pm
Glass Junkie

The reason I was asking is because I have read in different threads (can't find them now) a lot of people don't like it anymore. It seems it has had problems in the recent years, just not sure what they are or why most glass distributors don't carry any more.
Old 2009-09-03, 5:34pm
ManBearPig

I have heard people say they don't like it, but never heard anyone actually give a reason.

You can get all the Pyrex you want at www.waleapparatus.com

Old 2009-09-03, 5:44pm
Pyromaniac

I think it is Pyrex dishware that has changed not the rods -- they are still the same borosilicate as far as I know. . . .

http://www.consumeraffairs.com/news0.../08/pyrex.html

From the Encyclopedia:

"Pyrex is a brand name for heat-resistant glass introduced by Corning Glass Works in 1915.