No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Caber Light

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2020-12-31, 9:41am

Default Setting up a studio in the UK

Hi guys,

I could do with your help. I'm currently studying an MA in glass (90% in flameworking) and due to the current restrictions we all find ourselves in, I don't have access to the university's facilities. I doubt the course will be extended to compensate for time loss so I find myself looking at having a home/studio setup to put in the hours I need.

I have little to no experience of buying equipment so was hoping to get some support in what setup would allow me to work on small to medium pieces. Also if you guys can suggest any UK or Europe sellers of equipment that would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Old 2020-12-31, 10:08am

Contact Tuffnell's Glass. They may be able to point you to resources and information, and they sell equipment and glass.
Old 2020-12-31, 10:36am

I've tried contacting Tuffnell's a few times now and heard nothing back. Hopefully they get back soon. Thanks
Old 2020-12-31, 2:05pm
Phill

Have you looked in the Safety and Studio threads here?

There are tons of examples of how others set up their torch benches as well as long discussions on ventilation, flooring and temporary and permanent work arounds to all kinds of problems you might encounter.

Their are a few "Wendy House" setups in the back garden as well as some temp setups for flats and garages.

Can not offer anything on sourcing equipment over there but I am pretty sure there is an online forum in the UK but I can't remember the name right now.

Good luck and feel free to ask specific questions here if you like.
Old 2020-12-31, 2:25pm

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMDCraftworks View Post
I've tried contacting Tuffnell's a few times now and heard nothing back. Hopefully they get back soon. Thanks