Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2006-11-30, 6:11pm

Smile Kilns?

Hi Everyone,
I'm new to all of this. I've been reading a through the forums a lot and have heard how important it is to properly anneal beads. Will a fiber blanket properly anneal them or is a kiln necessary? If a kiln is necessary, what do you recommend? Where do you find them?
Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer!
Old 2006-11-30, 6:28pm
Missing presumed fed

No, cooling in a fiber blanket is not annealing. It's just slowing down the cooling process. It does not remove any of the stresses that are creating while you're making the bead. The bead is still liable to crack unexpectedly.

Sorry -- the other questions take more time to answer than I have right now (and there's no one right answer for everyone, anyway). I'll have to leave you to the good graces of somebody else for the moment.
Old 2006-11-30, 6:31pm
Sheryll

A fiber blanket doesn't anneal beads, it just slows it from cooling down rapidly. The bead would still need to be batch annealed in a kiln. Too much information to re-write, recommend you do a search on kilns and I know you'll find tons of information. Kilns and recommendations have been discussed a lot, there are tons of threads on them.
Old 2006-11-30, 6:36pm
Miss my BoBo Griff

You need to provide some more info if you want suggestions for a kiln. They are all dif and it really depends on what you want to do with it. Just beads? larger stuff? boro? sculpture?fusing?
chris ann
Old 2006-11-30, 8:10pm

Oh dear. From what I had read and researched I knew it was difficult to choose a kiln, but I didn't realize it was sooo complicated. I guess I still have a lot to learn about lampworking basics and glass in general before I make any decisions on what kind of kiln to buy. Thanks for the fast responses!
Old 2006-11-30, 8:18pm