Lampwork Etc.

Send a PM to CorriDawn!

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2012-04-17, 12:11pm

Default best bead release for Boro?

I'm new to making Boro beads on a mandrel and was hoping the community might be able to give their two cents on what bead releases have worked for them with Boro glass.
Out of curiousity does Blue Coat release from Sundance Glass work okay with Boro? I happen to have it already and it doesn't mention anything about soft or Boro glass on the jar.

Any suggestions and helpful tips would be most appreciated, thanks
Old 2012-04-17, 2:46pm
Alaska Boro

Bead release for the most part is a matter of opinion. Some releases work better than others. Some have a 'favorite' brand. Most if not all are made out of materials used in the pottery industry.

Have a jar of Blue Coat. It works well, but had to grind it out of the bead with a diamond drill. Very hard to remove. Having said that perhaps it has been reformulated since my last purchase. But did give up on Blue Coat and now make my own and never looked back.

Overall, just dip a few mandrels and give what you have a try and form your own opinion.
Old 2012-04-17, 3:49pm
Cave Dweller

Quote:
Originally Posted by clover1978 View Post
I'm new to making Boro beads on a mandrel and was hoping the community might be able to give their two cents on what bead releases have worked for them with Boro glass.
Out of curiousity does Blue Coat release from Sundance Glass work okay with Boro? I happen to have it already and it doesn't mention anything about soft or Boro glass on the jar.

Any suggestions and helpful tips would be most appreciated, thanks
What I like:

Foster Fire Smooth & Tuff or Heavy Duty.

Smooth & Tuff

FF Heavy Duty

Thanks for reminding me, I will be needing to order soon.
Old 2012-04-17, 4:28pm
Glass Hive Kiln Tech.