Lampwork Etc.

Send a PM to CorriDawn!

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Caber Light

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions > Torch Questions

Old 2011-03-27, 2:03pm
Now part of the Dark Side

Default Pre-mix vs Surface mix

"Many colors of soft glass, mostly opaque colors, when worked in a premix flame, will reduce and become gray. A surface mix torch properly adjusted to a neutral flame will keep the soft glass colors true. If you plan on working only soft glass or both soft and hard glass you should consider a surface mix torch."
-Excerpt from Arrow Springs Web site.

My question is "Why?". Isn't a neutral flame a neutral flame?
Old 2011-03-27, 3:33pm
I fart diamonds

I'm no expert but I have experience with both and have found that pre-mix torch flames are extremely harsh on soft glass. Even if you work your flame cool, your colors won't be as nice and vibrant as with a surface mix. (although you can still work soft glass with a premix.)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 2011-03-28, 8:22am

Thanks Shawnette, Harsh makes more sense. I've got a surface mix, I just want to know "why?".
Old 2011-03-28, 10:23am
Curmudgeon Engineering

To get a neutral flame with a premix torch requires the flame to be more strident or harsh as if the pressures were too high. You'll sometimes notice a hissing sound and the cones will be sharp and pointed. It is possible to get a neutral flame chemistry with a surface mix torch while having a 'soft' flame as the pressures 'in the flame' are often less so the area of the flame in the working part above the candles can be and often are softer. Make sence??
Old 2011-03-28, 12:31pm