No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2005-10-12, 12:56am
More ideas than talent

Default What tools? why?

Hi, I'm a newbie, started in August, currently using a hothead (boo hoo) after doing a two day course using a minor burner.

I've got a few questions. First of all, I'm using a 9 kg propane BBQ bottle (those MAPP gas bottles aren't even worth contemplating price wise in Oz). Firstly is there much difference between the MAPP gas and bbq gas in terms of cleanliness? I keep capturing soot - much less than when I started, but enough to still be a pain.

Secondly, surfing all the glass web sites, there appear to be all these weird and wonderful tools, presses etc. Having got a starter kit originally, which consisted of a graphite paddle, small mashers, tweezers, glasses, pliers etc, I'm interested to find out which tools people have found most useful and why.

Thanks
Wendy
Old 2005-10-12, 2:20am
Piscean Fire Goddess

get yourself a butter knife, maybe some chisels (the cheap ones), a pair of scissors, you can use a mandrel for a rake and poker, a crafting knife/razor knife (used for creasing flowers) - just make sure its all metal and doesn't have a little plastic bit holding the sharp piece.
When I finally had some money I got myself a Whimzicalities brass duo poker/shaper tool. I love it, one end good for poking the other for shaping...
I have a few presses, but you have to be able to get good shaped beads before you can effeciently use presses.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

- SJS Glasswork & Creations
Exploring a philosophical fantasy world.
Old 2005-10-12, 8:11am
Gentleman of Leisure