No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2008-09-27, 9:14pm
(416e6f6e796d6f7573)

Default Um, new torch?

OK, so I've been doing small beads in COE 104, or whatever it's called. I have a hothead torch and use bottle of MAPP. I would like to upgrade to something a bit hotter and a bit bigger, flame and torch wise. I was offered a oxygen generator thingy by an awesome lady at a local trunk show and I think i want to get into borosilicate as well. I will be switching over to propane because my mother, who does silver smithing, has the whole setup for soldering silver. What kind of torch is good for what I want to do? I'm looking in the ranges of $100-$300.
Old 2008-09-27, 9:39pm
(416e6f6e796d6f7573)

I've been making beads for about a year and Im completely self taught. I know nothing about concentrator yet, but the lady who's giving it to me just upgraded all her stuff so she doesn't need it anymore and I think it's pretty new or not to old. She says she's never changed the filters and it runs great; but she apparently used it a lot because she had thousands of beads, but didn't have it for long. I'm really not sure yet though. I worked with a minor in a mixed media class in college last year, it was really nice. Is that enough for boro? And what do you mean by tested?
Old 2008-09-27, 9:47pm
Certified Thread Killer

May I suggest the Mega Minor?

(I'm a little partial).

Looks like Nortel optimized this one for "better use of oxygen concentrators".
I use tanks for now but I'm glad to know that in the future I can switch to an oxycon without changing torches.

My transition from HH to the MM was very smooth and I still switch back and forth.

~Rachelle
Old 2008-09-27, 9:59pm
Ass-kicking Cephalopod