No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2009-09-03, 6:52pm
Sheila Davis Designs

Default Copper Leaf

Okay,I'll admit it... I'm a newbie. I was trying to use copper leaf and all it did was turn a gunmetal gray. What's the deal? I tried it on a couple different colors and tried a little cooler heat too, same thing. I don't have any of my lampwork beads in my store yet, but check out some awesome beadwork jewelry at stonedesignsbysheila.etsy.com

Last edited by Sheila D.; 2009-09-03 at 7:08pm. Reason: added website link
Old 2009-09-03, 7:32pm

Copper will do that if you leave it un-encased. If you encase copper foil, it turns a gorgeous deep red when it cools. It won't stay copper-colored, however. I haven't used leaf, but have seen discussions in other posts that it goes into solution into the glass underneath rather readily. If you put it over an enamel layer, it turns a gorgeous blue-green.

Thing about copper is that it releases toxic fumes when heated to lampworking temperatures. You'll want to be sure you have superb ventilation when you use it, and maybe wear a good respirator in addition.

Linda
Old 2009-09-03, 8:55pm

Put it over opal yellow and then etch it. It's like night and day - what goes in and what comes out of your etching solution.
If you can find copper mesh or copper tubing, it will turn a lovely red when encased.
Opal yellow with copper foil and pale ivory stringer etched

Copper core with dichro and clear

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by crystalflipz; 2009-09-03 at 9:01pm.
Old 2009-09-03, 10:21pm
I'm a lilac!

I put it on white and then boil it for a lovely mottled turquoise.