AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

The Flow

Glacial Art Glass

Old 2016-12-27, 3:56pm

Default National 3a blowpipe torch

Hello all, I am new to flameworking and so far I have a hothead torch setup on a 20 pound propane tank. I use only 104 glass so far and I don't look to get into boro anytime soon.
with that said I have a really old school NATIONAL 3A BLOWPIPE TORCH with a few of the compressed air tips (not the oxy tips) now I have read that this premix torch won't work for this "soft" glass, but my question is this. If I ran propane and compressed air it would not be as hot. Do you think I could get away with this, without destroying the color in the 104 glass.

the hot head works fine but it sounds like a jet taking off, not sure the NATIONAL 3A BLOWPIPE TORCH running would be much quieter? I am not ready to step up to the oxy/acc or oxy/propane just yet.
Old 2016-12-28, 6:07am
hyperT

Default 3A Blow Pipe

You say you have gas/air tips for the 3A, well that's what they are for.
There are a few different sizes for gas and compressed air.
This set up will give you a wide range of oxidizing or reducing fires.
You will get a gentle hissing sound from the torch.

Since I build my own workbenches, I would cut a small rectangular hole in the bench top so the torch would fit up through it. Then clamp it between two opposing L brackets with a couple hose clamps to secure it. This stands the torch up and makes it stable and adjustable. I also would use two of these torches facing directly at each other for a crossfire set up. You work in the center of the two "crossfires" to heat the glass from both sides at once. This will speed things up a lot.
I don't know where you read it won't work for soft glasses? It's what it's made for LOL. I have used them for half a century now LOL.

Have fun, Wayne

Last edited by hyperT; 2016-12-28 at 6:18am.
Old 2016-12-28, 7:03am
hyperT

Default Wale Apparatus