Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2013-04-30, 5:45am

Default Favorite tools?

What are your favorite tools for bead making?
So far I have the Shaping Marver and Roller, that came in my beginners kit.
Is there any other tools that would be helpful to a beginner?
Old 2013-04-30, 6:24am
Echo's Mother

Corina's Magic Wand
Old 2013-04-30, 6:25am

Tools, isn't that a loaded question. lol
There are so many things (tools) out there that it can be over whelming. I am still a newbie, so I get to say things like that and get away with it. Plus, I buy just about everything that comes my way that I think is cool or will help me out. What I have found is that I use my small handheld marver, the torch marver that came with my hothead most of the time. I do use a bead roller that I got and I am I am going to be looking for another one. The next most used is my marble mold. Other than a few pokers and dental tools that is about it. OH almost forgot I got this tool from Arrow Springs It is called a Shaping tool. I use it alot for pressing the glass and shaping.
As you get used to the glass and zone in on what you like making or want to make different tools will help you. Getting to many at one time will not only make you broke, it will make you crazy trying to learn to use them all at the same time. (ask me how I know).
The best thing you can do as you start is learning to control the glass and get your basic shapes with the tools you already have. Even though I have a bunch of different "tools" I still practice the basic shapes every time I sit down at the torch.
I am still learning and I hope to be learning for a long time. Every time you have a mess up don't feel as if you have failed; look at it in the learning experience and you will be flying along.
Good luck.