Lampwork Etc.
 
Mountain Glass Arts

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat




Glacial Art Glass


 

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2012-09-29, 5:44pm
SilverRiverJewelry's Avatar
SilverRiverJewelry SilverRiverJewelry is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 15, 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,035
Default Concentrator Question

So, I am saving up for a second concentrator. I have a 5lpm(not sure if the initials are right buy you know what I mean I hope lol). I have a cricket and usually work with 104 coe. However, I would also like to start to seriously work with boro. I can melt boro but lets just say that it takes a wee bit longer than I would like it to and making anything bigger than a normal bead becomes an exercise in frustration.

My question is, would it be better to buy a 10 lpn and hook the two together, or just buy a 15 and just run one? Would it make a difference as far as the pull on the electric?
__________________
Sonja

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2012-10-01, 9:26am
SilverRiverJewelry's Avatar
SilverRiverJewelry SilverRiverJewelry is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 15, 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,035
Default

Anyone
__________________
Sonja

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2012-10-01, 9:53am
pretties pretties is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 16, 2010
Location: Tarentum, Pennsylvania
Posts: 46
Default

I think I remember someone saying they have to be the same capacity. I used 2 5 lpm's on a Cricket and they worked very well. I got a Scorpion and it works great with the 2 5lpm's also.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2012-10-01, 11:06am
SilverRiverJewelry's Avatar
SilverRiverJewelry SilverRiverJewelry is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 15, 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,035
Default

Okay thank you!
__________________
Sonja

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2012-10-01, 11:45am
LeahBeads's Avatar
LeahBeads LeahBeads is offline
Flame Dame
 
Join Date: Aug 29, 2005
Location: The Lone Star State!
Posts: 341
Default

I have two 5lpm concentrators hooked up that I use when I work boro. I have a bobcat, though, so I don't know if the torch difference would affect anything.

You can definitely use two 5lpm concentrators.

Leah
__________________
Leah Nelson

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Etsy ID: leahbeads
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2012-10-01, 12:27pm
Ravenesque Ravenesque is offline
Naysayer
 
Join Date: Sep 22, 2009
Posts: 1,202
Default

Sorry for butting in but I have the same questions, so what about just buying one that = the two like she asked?

I have to buy a new one regardless and was thinking of just getting a 10 rather than 2 5s ??
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2012-10-01, 12:37pm
Role Role is offline
Cave Dweller
 
Join Date: Mar 29, 2012
Posts: 275
Default

The original poster is confusing PSI and LPM.

LPM is the amount of oxygen the unit produces, PSI is the pressure that
the oxygen is being pushed from the machine to the torch.

When coupling concentrators together the LPM does not matter, it is the
PSI of the unit that matters.

A 10 LPM machine can be coupled with a 5 LPM machine as long as the PSI is the same.

You will need to specify brand and model to find out if they are compatible.

Concentrators from companies like Unlimited Oxygen have been modified
to have higher than normal PSI, you will have problems if you try to
connect a low pressure concentrator to a modified one with higher PSI.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Role; 2012-10-01 at 12:42pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2012-10-02, 7:43am
SilverRiverJewelry's Avatar
SilverRiverJewelry SilverRiverJewelry is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 15, 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,035
Default

Thank you for clarifying. I knew what I meant, I just didn't know how to say it!

So I guess my question then is, should I just buy a 10 or 15 lpm concentrator and be done with it?
__________________
Sonja

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2012-10-02, 7:57am
2xMI 2xMI is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 14, 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 2,366
Default

I'd keep the 5lpm as a spare/backup and go to one 15 rather than running 2 machines. At least, that's what I did, and am happy with the decision. Less noise and less space taken up by one machine vs two...

Haven't worked on a cricket, though; I use either a mini CC or a mega minor. You might want to check the manufacturer's specs for the cricket and see if there is any guidance there.

Mimi
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2012-10-02, 8:07am
SilverRiverJewelry's Avatar
SilverRiverJewelry SilverRiverJewelry is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 15, 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,035
Default

Thanks Mimi! Crickets are made specifically to work well with concentrators which is one of the reasons I bought it. I knew I wanted to play with boro at some point and didn't want to deal with oxygen tanks.
__________________
Sonja

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 5:07pm.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Your IP: 52.205.167.104