Lampwork Etc.

AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2013-09-16, 2:48pm
Queen Bee

Question Boro Shade 3 with Contact Lenses

I'm fairly new to boro, but have been making some beads lately. I wear contact lenses, and have philips boro glasses in shade 3. I noticed while torching today that some of the colors still hurt my eyes, especially when burning off the haze or melting in frit. I stopped torching, and my eyes were very bloodshot, especially around my iris where the contact lenses are. I took the lenses out right away, but it's been a couple of hours, and my eyes are still irritated.

Should I not wear contacts and get fit over frames? Or wear the contacts with a shade 5? I'm concerned I won't be able to see with a shade 5. What do you all think?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Donna

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Vintage & Contemporary Beads, Findings, Chains, Trinity Brass, Vintaj, Bead Tubing, Bobbins

Handmade Artist Lampwork Jewelry
Old 2013-09-16, 2:59pm

i probaly shouldnt try to answer this but i use rose didy's for boro, alot of people only use them because of the visublity and if you dont boil the glass it wont be too bright, i imagine your contacts may have dried out or they may be very sensitive to heat, i dont know anything about contacts so sorry.. i would also say it may be from a lack of minerals, your body needs 90 essentails and you only get about 50 from foods,,, idk! i would try glasses and if that doesnt work then..... idk!
Old 2013-09-16, 3:27pm
Flamewoman

Here is some information coppied from the Mountain Glass Arts site.