No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2005-10-18, 6:14pm
Fight glass with FIRE

Default What is the deal with Alabaster rods

I'm new to lampwork and was wondering what made alabaster rods not be as compatible with other rods as are all the others between themselves. I was also wondering if many people used them often or are they really so different that you just work the alabaster colors between themselves. Do most people buy these rods and keep some in stock or are they too much trouble to play around and mix with others.

thanks a lot

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Emmanuel Germain
Old 2005-10-18, 7:19pm

I dont really know what the deal with them are. Only tried about 3 rods and hated them. Bubbles up and seems to be only compatiable with other alabaster rods.

the nick name for alabaster rods is bastered rods.
Old 2005-10-19, 4:17pm
IMAHO

I love Opalinos, but what really makes Alabastro so different? I just bought a sample pack- great colors. Maybe I'll go burn some and see what I get. None of the suppliers mention much about alabastro being incompatible with other 104s. Is it not really a 104?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Free your mind and your glass will follow"
Old 2005-10-19, 5:11pm
Fight glass with FIRE

From what I read they contain some marble to make them more opalecent which causes then to not be compatible all the time probably depending on the batch I imagine. I was also told that if heated too much they tend to loose their color and look like crap.

Emmanuel Germain
Old 2005-10-19, 9:10pm
Rose colored glasses…√