Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

View Poll Results: Technique or design?
I have copied Tink 1 1.49%
I have copied Larry 0 0%
I have copied both 2 2.99%
I have copied neither, I have just used the techniques learned from them 64 95.52%
Voters: 67. You may not vote on this poll

Old 2008-12-12, 11:12am

Default Technique or design: how do you figure it out?

I’m not a newbie, so I guess I should know the difference between the two but sometimes I cannot decide whether it’s a technique or a design…To some this might be obvious, so how do you how to figure it out each time ?

To illustrate my puzzlement, let me take an example : here is a blown vessel that I made a while back. I took a class from Tink Martin (thus the blown vessel) and I took a class from Larry Scott (thus the ivory and black lines from his topographic long bead).
I could also add that the topper is made with a technique that Diana East uses a lot, but that is the part I feel certain about it's a technique not a design.

So since it’s ok to use a technique but not if it is a design (that would be copying), what do you think ?
• I have copied Tink
• I have copied Larry
• I have copied both
• I have not copied them, I have just used the techniques learned from them

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 2008-12-12, 11:16am
Scientific Glass Girl

i pick choice number 4.

your vessel is beautiful.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 2008-12-12, 11:16am
novembersfyre everywhere

Option four:

" I have not copied them, I have just used the techniques learned from them."

I am curious though. Why did you classify Diana East's technique as a technique but not Tink's or Larry's?