No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Glacial Art Glass

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2006-11-27, 7:30pm
Colors outside the lines

Question Thoughts on this workbench?

I'm just getting started and am trying to find a nice reasonably priced workbench for a studio in my 2-car garage. Please take a look at this one and tell me what you think. I like that the depth is 30" as it will be facing a wall. Any advise or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

http://www.globalindustrial.com/gcs/...emKey=30036934

Leah
Old 2006-11-27, 8:07pm
Gentleman of Leisure

Typically they are a stout work bench that will probably do exactly what you expect from it.... You will need to place something flame resistant on surface below torch to keep hot glass from destroying bench top...

Might be kind of cool to have two of the optional drawers added on... One on each side of torch....

Dale

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Vendor-Artist-Studio-Teacher Registry

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
San Francisco - A Few Toys Short of a Happy Meal

Last edited by Dale M.; 2006-11-27 at 8:10pm.
Old 2006-11-27, 9:33pm
PyronamixK

What Dale said. As for a flame resistant surface, hardibacker board is a good choice. I would put a piece of it on the wall to protect it from the torch flame, too.
Old 2006-11-27, 10:44pm
Procrastinate Now!!

Hey Thanks Leah!! Evidently no one looks in the Studio anymore.

Those who restrain desire do so because theirs is weak enough to be restrained.
Old 2006-11-27, 11:13pm

that looks perfect! it would also give you a foot rest when torching if you are going to sit at a taller stool type chair. Doesnt seem like a bad deal either.