Lampwork Etc.

Send a PM to CorriDawn!

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2009-01-15, 5:34pm

Default Fume with pre-mix problems?????????????

Allright here it go's....So I'm new to the world of pre-mix torches and Am not liking the outcome of my fume jobs as compared to my Surface -mix torch. I like the PM because it rages nice and hot and I can work faster. With the SM I can control my fume colors much better though.

Maybe I'm just psycho...But does anyone else notice the color difference with gold fume on a Pre V.s. a Surface Mix. Here's two pics of two pendants I made today to compare with. The first is with a pre-mix and the second is with a surface mix. Any opinions????????
Attached Images

Old 2009-01-15, 6:04pm

I think you are over fuming with the premix. less fume is better then too much. also what did you use. gold & silver on both?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2009-01-16, 12:09am

yeah. i mix em ' up. I'll tell ya' that damn pre-mix fumes very very fast. I'm used to fumeing very slowly with small amounts.
Old 2009-01-16, 12:25am

allright check this out...this pendant has much less gold fume... and still (with the pre-mix) it still has that oragngy color. And yes there are many more just like this one. ?????????????????
Attached Images

Old 2009-01-16, 6:32am

still could be too much fume or you are using the wrong flame. With gold I use a oxidizing flame. Try oxidizing, neutral, and reducing to see what flames give you different colors. With a premix torch get the flame to go from a light aqua blue(reducing) to a dark blue(oxidizing) an it should be hissing a little too.