Mountain Glass Arts

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Beads of Courage

Old 2006-07-05, 11:46am

Default Piranha vs Carlisle mini cc

I'm sorry to beat a dead horse, but could you experts compare these two torches for me?

Thanks
Lee
Old 2006-07-11, 5:32am
אהבה אני ישו

Lee -

I am not an expert, but I will chime in for you. I have used a Minor, a Mini CC and Piranha. My recommendation would depend on what type of glass you plan to work with. If you are only interested in soft glass, then the Mini CC will work great. The only drawback I saw to the Mini was that the manufacturer does not recommend that you turn the torch up more than it takes to get a 3/8" flame. With my Minor I could crank that baby when I needed a larger flame.

The Piranha will work great for soft glass and you could use it for small-medium boro work. The flame is hotter and more concentrated. Since this torch is not being made anymore you will need to find someone who is selling theirs or a shop who still has them in stock.

All of this is just my limited experience.........so the experts might want to give their 2 cents......

Believer
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Wife
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Mother
Grandmother
Student
Artist

Wishes the hot flashes she has were only the kind that occur at her torch...

Old 2006-07-11, 6:13am
Fight glass with FIRE