Lampwork Etc.

AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > The Mall > Customer Service Kiosk

Customer Service Kiosk -- Questions for LE vendors.

Old 2008-06-09, 12:13pm
love me love my llamas

Default glass rods per pound

Hi,
I am new to lampworking. I have never bought a pound of glass. I did find a local person who I bought single rods from but her store closed. I was wondering how many rods are in a pound? I know the diameter of the rods will determine how many but the smaller size rods, will be a good example for me. This will help determine how much glass I want to order.
Thanks,
Maggie
Old 2008-06-09, 12:22pm
Borovangelist

Hi Maggie,

It depends on the glass. Weights vary from manufacturer manufacturer from color to color. The length of the rods makes a difference as does the contents of the glass as some colors weigh a little more because of their chemical makeup.

I know when I buy a pound of some boro colors I get about 11-12 rods, and 1/2 a pound gets me 3-6.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
Old 2008-06-09, 12:31pm
Just me

Hi Maggie,
Welcome to glass and LE.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 1 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

With soft glass you can pretty much expect around 24 rods in a pound if they are about 5-6mm in diameter (pencil thickness).
Happy color shopping!
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 1 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ETA: Oh yeah, Jo is right on the length, effetre and vetrofond usually run about 13 inches long.

Last edited by Bubbyanne; 2008-06-09 at 12:38pm.
Old 2008-06-09, 12:36pm
Satake Woman!