Lampwork Etc.

Send a PM to CorriDawn!

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2013-03-01, 12:46am

Default Annealing for a piece done over many days

Hi, there! I'm still learning my basics at the torch and I'm trying to make a sculptural piece and it's taking me a few days to finish. In my last few attempts, by the third day, the piece keeps cracking while I'm trying to work it (even though I first warm the area at the tip of the flame) and I have to give up.
Do I need to anneal it at the end of each day or is it ok to anneal it when the piece is finally over?
I don't have my own kiln and need to go to a nearby workshop for annealing. Can I flame anneal my work at the end of each day and then do a final kiln annealing at the end?
Is it ok to put a cool piece into the kiln directly at the temperature of 1050 f?
Finally, I'm really scared that after making my piece and I put it into the kiln to anneal it may crack in the kiln.. how often does that happen? I make sure there are no visable cracks while putting it in.
Thanks in advance!
Old 2013-03-01, 1:25am

I too am still learning and I'm sure someone will correct and add to this post. I use a fiber blanket to slowly cool bead until I can anneal (in batches) sometimes 3 or 4 days. I know you can't put a cold bead in a hot kiln. Bead must be brought up to temp with the kiln. I have a small bead heater that brings the temp of beads and rods up to 800 degrees F. I've had a number of beads crack in the kiln with stress cracks that were not there or visible when I put in the kiln. Others will pipe in but I wanted to see how accurate my answers are. If I spent that much time working on a piece I too would be "scared to death" something would happen to ruin it.
Old 2013-03-01, 1:28am